General Juan-Johnson Maria (Johnny)
Manila, Philippines
Bonifacio Global City, Metro Manila, Philippines


Jose started playing tennis at age six, and he never looked back. He was a semifinalist in the Wimbledon juniors, and won bronze in the Asian Games in 1958 to complete an all-Filipino podium finish before conquering the competition four years later.
He became a successful mentor of Pinoy tennis talent as the women's national team head coach then the Davis Cup captain (2002-2005). He was also inducted into the De La Salle University Hall of Fame in Manila in 1996.

Jose is the last Filipino to win a tennis gold medal in the Asian Games in 1962 in Jakarta, Indonesia, posted a career record of 20 wins in the Davis Cup, the premier international team event in men’s tennis.

On September 14, 2013, Juan “Johnny” Jose was teary-eyed when he was asked to give a speech after he received his Davis Cup trophy as one of the commitment awardees at the Plantation Bay Resort and Spa in Lapu-Lapu City. Jose, along with Johnny Arcilla, Felicisimo Ampon and Raymundo Deyro were chosen as the awardees for representing the Philippines in the Davis Cup for so many years.
Only Jose and Arcilla made it to the awarding ceremony while the late Ampon was represented by his grandsons Dominic and David Ampon Mallare. Deyro was not able to attend the awarding. The awardees received a Davis Cup trophy from London. It was was handed out by International Tennis Federation (ITF) representative Puneet Gupta.


Archive statistics 1954 - 1964

Tournament wins 1964 - Philippine Open (Amateur)
1962 - Malaysian International Championships (Open)
1962 - Asian Games - Individual (Amateur)
1961 - Malaysian International Championships (Open)

Tournaments Philippine Open - 1964 Philippines Championships - 1963 Philippines Championships - 1962 Malaysian International Championships - 1962 Asian Games - Individual - 1962 Asian Games - Team - 1962 Philippines Championships - 1961 Malaysian International Championships - 1961 Inter-Port Competition - 1961 Philippines Championships - 1960 Victorian Championships - 1960 Queensland Championships - 1960 Philippines Championships - 1959 Japan International Championships - 1959 South Australian Championships - 1958 Philippines Championships - 1958 South Australian Championships - 1957 Victorian Championships - 1957 Philippines Championships - 1956 US Open - 1955 Philippines Championships - 1955 Colorado Championship - 1955 Newport Casino - 1955 Eastern Grass Court Championships - 1955 Pacific Southwest Championships - 1955 Westchester - 1955 Philippines Championships - 1954 Asian Championships - 1954

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *