General Dr. Samuel Henry
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia


Samuel Henry Hughes notably won the men’s singles title at the Queensland Championships in 1895. He appears to have taken part in a number of lawn tennis tournaments during the time he spent studying, living and working in England in the late 1880s and early 1890s, as well as in some tournaments in Continental Europe. He sometimes used the pseudonym “Mr Keck” (his mother’s maiden name was Keck).

From The Sydney Morning Herald, 9 July 1935:

Death of Dr Samuel H. Hughes

The death has occurred of Doctor Samuel Henry Hughes, 71, who practised in Sydney for many years. He was a licentiate of the Royal College of Physicians, a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons, and a licentiate of the Society of Apothecaries. He was educated at Malvern College, England, and also studied at Saint Bartholomew’s Hospital, London. He was house surgeon and house physician at the Royal Free Hospital, house surgeon at the Royal Westminster Ophthalmic Hospital, and for several years senior ophthalmic surgeon at Lewisham Hospital [all in London].

About 1888 [1894?], he was tennis champion of Homburg [The Hague?], Holland. At one time he was also champion of Queensland. He is survived by Mrs Hughes [née Christian Brydon Scott] and a son, Mr Samuel Henry Hughes, junior, in England.


Archive statistics 1884 - 1898

Tournament wins 1895 - Queensland Championships (Amateur)
1894 - Den Haag (Amateur)

Tournaments New South Wales Championships - 1898 Sydney Metropolitan Grasscourt Championships - 1898 New South Wales Championships - 1897 New South Wales Championships - 1896 Queensland Championships - 1896 Sydney Metropolitan Grasscourt Championships - 1896 New South Wales Championships - 1895 Queensland Championships - 1895 Sydney Metropolitan Grasscourt Championships - 1895 Den Haag - 1894 North of Ireland Championships - 1894 Wimbledon - 1893 Queens Club Tournament - 1893 Colchester Championship - 1893 East of England Championships - 1893 South of England Championships - 1892 Kent Championships - 1891 Scottish Championships - 1891 British Covered Court Championships - 1891 Buxton - 1891 St. Leonards-On-Sea - 1891 Saxmundham - 1890 Boulogne - 1889 Sussex Championships - 1889 Redhill - 1884

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *