General Sir Allan Walton
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia



Allan Walton Knight (1910–98), was one of Australia’s outstanding engineers. Born in Launceston, a brilliant student who excelled at sport, he graduated from the University of Tasmania in Science and Engineering and later developed a highly successful composite beam for bridges, a bridge type still widely used today. In 1932 Knight joined the Public Works Department and undertook the construction of several major bridges, notably designing and supervising the building of the floating bridge across the River Derwent (1943).

In 1946 Knight was appointed Commissioner of the Hydro-Electric Commission. He surrounded himself with capable staff and employed many migrants to work on his new developments. Knight became one of the nation’s big spenders and the Commission won international recognition for enormous advances in the technology of dam and power station design and construction. Under Knight’s leadership (1946–1977) the Commission’s installed capacity grew from 172 to 1515 megawatts and its workforce from 1000 to over 5000. His plans were not without controversy: the proposal to flood Lake Pedder was strongly opposed and led to Tasmania’s first true environmental battle, which the Hydro eventually won.

After the Tasman Bridge disaster in 1975, Knight supervised reconstruction which, he said, was probably the biggest challenge of his professional life. Knight was presented with many honours and was created a Knight Bachelor in 1970. His sporting achievements were also impressive and he excelled in rowing, tennis and real tennis. An exceptional engineer of world standing, Knight had great vision and organising ability and made a major impact on Tasmania’s development.


Archive statistics 1930 - 1939

Tournament wins 1933 - Tasmanian Championships (Amateur)
1932 - Tasmanian Championships (Amateur)
1931 - Tasmanian Championships (Amateur)
1930 - Tasmanian Championships (Amateur)

Tournaments Tasmanian Championships - 1939 Tasmanian Championships - 1938 Australian Open - 1935 Tasmanian Championships - 1935 Australian Open - 1934 Tasmanian Championships - 1934 Australian Open - 1933 Tasmanian Championships - 1933 Australian Open - 1932 Tasmanian Championships - 1932 Australian Open - 1931 Tasmanian Championships - 1931 Australian Open - 1930 Tasmanian Championships - 1930

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *